Be the Compass

You have this wanderlust and you won’t be contented staying in one place. You need to go out but friends and office mates aren’t available. You are also afraid you’d be lost somewhere remote or some unprecedented mishaps happen. To top it all, you’re somehow don’t get along with directions. Then, what now?

All things begin with a single step.

I dared. I went to Lucban, Quezon myself. It may not be a big deal for those who normally travel but for me, it is. It wasn’t easy feeling I’d be lost. Actually, I wanted to go to Kamay ni Hesus, a  pilgrimage site. It was a plan over a year and I told myself I should go during or before holyweek. I browsed the web to gain knowledge on how to get there. I came across geejaytravellog and printed the information from the blog. I also read several other blogs for me to know how even being safe going there. I am someone who overthinks that at a point when I step up into a bus, a scene of being rob, on fire or accident is already playing on my head. Anyway, it helps being contingent at the same time.

So there – I set the date, budgeted (time and money), printed a copy of the blog article, readied my backpack and went off. I rode a Jac Liner bound to Lucena in Kamias, QC.It was a bit traffic on a Sunday for me to reach Lucena in 4.5 hours. Rather being bored and stuck in traffic, I busied myself acquainting with local views namely, Mt. Makiling and Mt. Banahaw. It was fantastic how my bus was just like going around these mountains.

Here, take some look on what caught my attention on the way.

Before lunch, I was able to reach Lucena terminal. From there, I rode a jeep to Lucban. I didn’t know how to get off at grotto (I am short of some inquiring attitude that time). Luckily, there were other passengers going there too. The grotto is only at the highway.

compass_4

Do you know Fr. Joey Faler? I was amazed when I saw him at the chapel presiding a healing mass. He is the founder of the pilgrimage site.

Aside from the healing mass, I did hiking. Yes, I did. The grotto of Ascending Christ is situated at the top of a hill with 300 plus steps. Imagine going up at 11:30am to 1:30pm. It was a lot of sweat but the experience was worth reaching the top. A 50-ft statue stands tall and a view of Mt. Banahaw welcomed me there. People, of various localities and intentions also warmed my feeling of the holy week.

compass_5

On calculation, I decided going home at 3pm. I bought Lucban longganiza and other native delicacies and I didn’t pass to have a taste of their Pansit Habhab – that which you only eat by a banana leaf ( technically eating with your bare hands, but i had fork).

compass_6

In 4 hours again, I went my way home – going the way I came. I knew from jeepney drivers in Kamay ni Hesus that there is an other way via Sta. Cruz, Laguna but of course, I didn’t take it. That’s out from my itinerary. Maybe some other time (haha).

Okay, I went home safe and sound. With an idea, an ounce of courage and a lot of determination, I did it. So maybe, you can too. It’s just fine being lost (though I didn’t). All you need is to will it.

Plan.

Grab your backpack.

Get going. 

You have four directions to go. It is your freedom to choose where to head to but don’t forget to bring your common sense and aim to be safe always. The world out there is both wild and nice. There’s no choice but to walk in there or you’ll never get far.

Good luck and God bless on your soon-to-be adventures!

 

Roma Pi

 

2 thoughts on “Be the Compass

  1. Congratulations on this achievement! But I hope the next time you travel, alone or with company, you won’t be afraid to ask the locals for directions or help. That is part of the travelling experience and it would definitely save you a lot of time. 👍🏻😁 Anyways, you surely enjoyed your solo backpacking. 😀

    Like

    • Well, hope granted. 🙂 I learned to open my mouth and ask since then – less of my intuition and “bahala na” attitude. I really did enjoy that first solo travel. It’s getting out of my comfort zone.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

