Memory Lane

I do find myself going back to that moment we met. And I,

I miss you.

One-by-one

Here I am

Counting the steps

The miles, the distance

We’ve been afar now.

I always go back

To that first day

I replied ‘hi’

When you said hello

That sunny spirit

Shining on your cheeks

Crossing over to my dampened soul.

I always go back

To where we’ve been

Chatting, the messages

In my phone

The no nonsense and the whatever

Things we argued and agreed;

They were history

I wouldn’t afford deleting.

I always go back to

That same spot we used

To by stand, killing time

But not our conversation

My insights and yours

Your rants and mine

The passions we have

In common,

The differences we respect;

Sure they divide us

But we didn’t fade out.

I always go back

To that undisturbed, wordless

Few hours

In silence, we understand

The troubled, the weary heart

Crying to the other

For comfort, embracing arms

Protecting from hurt

Restoring what was lost

That love, enough to knit

A torn part.

I always go back

To the mischievous sorts

The deliverability of our doings

That ‘fun’, ‘just now’

We’re going to not make it twice.

I always go back to that fight,

I thought it’s over..

I won’t see you again, hear your voice

but yeah, we managed to go

back where we were;

proved that our bond

isn’t stiff, it’s flexing

bamboo, bent and just

stood again.

I always go back

to the assurance of your smile,

shaking off my no confidence

that we are strong,

that we can make it

that we can conquer every doubt;

I am sure, we did.

I always go back

To that day

You gave me a hug,

It felt right, half

And half, I knew

It won’t be.

You went with Him.

I miss you.

I always go back

To where we started

To where we went

To all things we’ve been through

And will always go back

To a moment where you’re not

Just a memory

But real somewhere in my chest..

Etched and treasured, forever be my beloved.

 “One-by-one Here I am Counting the steps The miles, the distance We’ve been afar now.”

Leave a Reply

